Rodriguez Army Health Clinic - Home
Skip navigation links, go to content
Magnifying Glass

Rodriguez Army Health Clinic History and Lineage

Major Fernando E. Rodriguez

On 18 October 1898, the US took formal possession of San Juan and the hospital at El Morro. The American Flag was raised. The first American patients were members of the 11th Infantry, who were admitted on 20 October 1898, before much progress had been made in the renovation. Major Charles F. Mason, Surgeon, of the Brigade of volunteers was formally assigned as temporary commander on 22 October 1898. The hospital was gradually developed as a general hospital and named the U.S. General Hospital, San Juan, Puerto Rico. During 1947 the U.S. General Hospital changed its name to the Rodriguez General Hospital.

Rodriguez General Hospital was names in honor of Major Fernando E. Rodriguez, Dental Corps, US Army, an outstanding pioneer in oral bacteriology research He was one of the first to discover the organism causing tooth decay. Major Rodriguez was a native Puerto Rican and served as Dental Officer, Station Hospital, Post of San Juan, at Fort Brooke.

On 15 January 1947 the 161st General Hospital was inactivated and was reactivated as the Rodriguez General Hospital. The status of Puerto Rico was also changing. By the Jones Act of 1917, Puerto Rico had become an incorporated territory of the United States. The territory received partial self government in 1947 and the American military decided it no longer needed all of Fort Brooke.

On February 14, 1949 the Rodriguez General Hospital was closed as a part of the closing of Fort Brooke. The Outpatient Clinic which was located on Fort Buchanan was renamed; the Rodriguez Army Health Clinic and remains in part to this day.

Rodriguez Army Health Clinic’s Commanders

1974 - 1977 CPT Jacob Lozada 2002 - 2003 COL Bradley N. Harper
1977 - 1981 MAJ Jessie Valdez 2003 - 2007 COL Margarita Aponte
1981 - 1982 CPT Francisco Maldonado 2007 - 2009 COL Manuel Valentin
1982 - 1984 MAJ Rosa Smith 2009 - 2009 LTC John E. Glorioso
1984 - 1989 COL Gilberto Varela 2009 - 2011 COL Virginia D. Yates
1989 - 1992 COL Ignacio Hernandez 2011 - 2012 COL Danny B.N. Jaghab
1992 - 1999 COL Rodolfo E. Bautista 2012 - 2014 COL Angelene Hemingway
1999 - 2002 COL Bobbilynn H. Lee 2014 - Present LTC David L Sloniker